horse.com > Clearance > Horsewear > Item # E002799

Defender 1200 Denier Turnout Blanket 200G

Free Economy Shipping!
From $54.99

SIZE OUR PRICE
84In

Select your product options above to view the stock and delivery information.

close

Sometimes, manufacturers require that products be advertised only at their suggested prices. When we choose to sell these items for less, we display the sale price only in the cart. To see the price, click Add to Cart.

Frequently Bought Together:
close

Sometimes, manufacturers require that products be advertised only at their suggested prices. When we choose to sell these items for less, we display the sale price only in the cart. To see the price, click Add to Cart.

Product Summary:

Ships to Canada

Defender® 1200 Denier Turnout Blanket 200g

Defender blankets are designed with a snug neck, deeper fit, lower drop and seamless back to provide the best defense against rain and weather conditions. Now available in sizes to fit ponies, horses and warmbloods in a wide range of body types for any breed. Exclusive paisley design features solid color drip line, bindings and surcingles for a fun fashionable look. Build your own blanket group by selecting a pattern and a solid to make blanketing your horse easy.

Features:

  • 1200 Denier Rip Stop Nylon Outer Shell - Provides Heavy Material Strength and can withstand minor bites, rubs or pulls and is recommended for daily or continuous turnout for horses with access to run in shelter.
  • 200g Polyfill - Provides medium weight warmth and protection from Wind and Rain.
  • 70 Denier Poly Cotton Lining - Prevents rubbing and helps to keep the coat shiny while preventing hair, shavings, and straw from sticking to the inside of the blanket.
  • Waterproof - Teflon® coated out shell with taped seams and seamless spine repels water to keep your horse dry.
  • Breathable - Designed to allow moisture vapor to pass wick away from the horse and preventing sweating while retaining body heat and repelling outside coldness.
  • Heavy Nylon Binding - Double sewn to secure material and provide additional durability.
  • Reinforced Stress Points - Double Sewn with additional reinforcement to help prevent tears.
  • Fleece Wither - Helps provide protection from rubbing.
  • Open Front Double Buckle Closure - Velcro Secure with double buckle front straps featuring rust resistant stainless steel hardware.
  • Action Shoulder Gussets - Allow for freedom of movement and help to prevent shoulder rubbing.
  • Low Cross Adjustable Surcingles with T-Lock Fasteners - Provide easy adjustability to ensure proper fit and easy on/off.
  • Removable Elastic Adjustable Leg Straps - Help to secure the blanket and prevent from shifting from side to side.
  • Tail Cover  - Double stitched tail cover ensures tail flap stays securely in place.
  • Name Tag - Included on the inside front left.

Specifications:

  • Measuring Instructions - Stand your horse as square as possible, measure from the center of chest around side of the body to the point of the horse's rump just before the tail. If you horse ends up measuring between sizes always round up to the next size to ensure full coverage.
  • Washing Instructions - Machine wash with cold water – Gentle cycle with mild detergent. Air Dry or Machine Dry/No Heat
  • Horses Turned Outside without Shelter - Turnout Sheet and Blanket materials are waterproof and designed to keep your horse dry, however if your horse is turned out in a field without a run in shed or shelter during prolonged rain or heavy downpours your horse may still get wet especially in the neck and tail areas.
  • When using a blanket or sheet it is critical to monitor the fluctuating climate and temperatures even with a blanket that is waterproof and breathable. The wicking properties of a breathable blanket are designed to wick away normal body heat, when a blanket is too heavy the heat and moisture cannot be wicked away fast enough causing your horse to sweat. The temperature and the length of your horse’s coat will determine what weight of blanket you should use. For this reason, most people who choose to blanket horses have several articles of horse clothing that offer varying levels of warmth.

     

 

 

Downloadable Resources
Sizing InformationSizing Information
Customers Also Bought:

Product Reviews by Customers

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 30 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by HUGE shoulders... I was pleased to find such a high denier sheet for the price, but unfortunately, though the fit along the back was great, the shoulder 'hole' was ridiculously large. Even on the smallest hole it sagged open on my gelding. The print is a little over the top, but looks better in person, I am not a paisley fan, but was a fan of the price. Returning since it did not fit. November 19, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty Good Blanket I bought this blanket knowing the blue is more a purple and it is and its a pretty purple too. However my only complaint so far is that the two horses I bought these blankets for have already put little rips in them. The blanket is however trying to hold up to their abuse and I would recommend this blanket for horses who are hard on blankets! November 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product This blanket kept my horse warm, and most importantly completely DRY during hurricane sandy in virginia. I'd say that's pretty good. The blue color is more like purple, and it's not the most attractive thing in the world, but overall it's a great blanket, especially for the price. I found the sizing to be accurate. November 12, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not bad, but a few issues... Most important order a biggger size than normal. We ordered at 81" and normally that runs a bit on the larger size and it just fits and I mean just fits... Quality is good so is the colour. September 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by color it looks like a blue and white blanket in the picture, nut its more of a purple and cream.Its still really pretty,ithink my horse will love it! August 31, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Really nice blanket I purchased this during the summer sale, and will not have a chance to try it out until winter. I did inspect the entire blanket and tried it on my horse. Very well made and seems to be very durable. The other horse people in my barn also oogled over the blanket and were impressed that it was not only beautiful, but very well made. They even inspected the stitching. I ordered this a bit larger than my horse measures, since I read some reviews where people complained it was not big enough for their horse. Well, now it is a little too big for my horse. I guess some folks don't know how to measure for a blanket :-P August 8, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome blanket I ordered four of these blankets and think they are fantastic. They fit my horses perfectly, are sturdy, completely waterproof and an excellent blanket for the price. They are perfect for milder temperatures in rainy weather. I would recommend this blanket to anyone. July 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product A ++++ My Horse loves his new blanket. Color is great and the fit and strangth is awesome. I have brought Defender products before and will keep buying. Thank you for offering such a great product. March 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great blanket for the money I ordered two of these blankets for my 16.1 hand thoroughbred mare (size 81")and stocky 14.3 hand quarter horse gelding (size 75"). They were a great buy and have held up really well. No rips or tears this winter. The fit is good and the colors are bright. The blue is more of a periwinkle and the pink a raspberry color. My horses love them! February 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Defender Water Proof Turnout Sheet Wonderful, Non-Sweaty, Easy to Launder repeatedly, Last Well and Doesn't Rip Easily like lower quality sheets. :) February 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by My worrying is gone I have a stocky mare that had never worn a blanket before. I was worried how she would be with one since she is so hyper and still young. This blanket holds up to the galloping rearing bucking and pulling that my herd does. Even when she is rolling. Not one tear on it and brushes clean. I read that it was short on the sides which it is but it still has enough to cover her big belly :) This is a great blanket for a great price. The color is beautiful i have the solid plum :) February 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great blanket for the money! This blanket has been awsome! It fit my mare perfectly and is super tough. She rolls everyday and this thing has stood its ground until just recently when it got the tiniest rip in the top. I would definatly recomend this blanket to anyone. February 5, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Sides not long enough. This blanket barely goes past the sides of my slender Saddlebred mare. If I step back her abdomen is visible. This is not adequate for a winter environment. The blanket gives the appearance that the company is trying to cut costs by shorting the amount of fabric that should have been included hence cheating horse owners with a substandard product. I have not encountered this before with other blankets. Spend the extra dollars for a blanket that is a keeper. February 4, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fairly Good I have to say thought since it is so cheap the quality is not very good. If you have a horse that is hard on blankets, dont get it. My horse made at least 12 rips in it within the first 2 years. And the buckle in the front popped out and broke. Not very good quality. January 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Blanket I absolutely LOVE this blanket. I hate how most blankets hang down further than I would like but, this blanket fits my horse perfectly. I ordered the blue paisley several weeks ago and was super glad when I got it out the box, that the white was more cream colored though the blue is some what purple, like the other reviews said. Also, I've watched my horse roll in the blanket and it stayed perfectly in place. It doesnt even look the slighest bit dirty! I just ordered a plum paisley one for my older mare. Due to the durability and affordability of this blanket I would recommend it to everyone! January 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Blanket This blanket is a lighter weight than other 1200 denier blankets, and easy to maneuver. I love the snap on closures on the front as they are much easier to use than the buckles. I bought one of these 2 years ago and it has held up like new. I'm purchasing another one to replace a different brand that tore and lost leg straps. I highly recommend this blanket! January 9, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great blanket for the price I agree with many others that the blue, is NOT blue. Its closer to purple, or almost a cornflower-like color. That being said, I really don't care. The fit of the blanket is great on my 16hh QH mare, although I am more inclined to like the European fits, and this is not. Zipper rolls constantly and the blanket rights itself back to almost neutral position. I have considered getting a similar blanket for my younger mare, but am concerned that the blanket would not cover my mare. The 81 on the 16hh horse looks like a short skirt, so I'm afraid on the 17hh horse there would be belly left uncovered. I guess I will see how the blanket fits this time next year when the QH mare is pregnant. I was originally going to buy a saxon, because I had at least heard of the brand before, but could not wait for them to come back in stock. I am not disappointed with the Defender. December 17, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not long enough on the sides!! Both my friend at work and I bought this blanket for our horses; she has a 1000lb QH and I have an 1100lb TB. POSITIVES: This blanket does fit well along the neck, shoulders, back and tail. And it is very warm on the top half of the horse. NEGATIVES: This blanket was not long enough on the sides; both horses have at least 1 foot of their bellyies not covered at all, and the warm layer only comes down just below 1/2 way on their sides; the bottom portion is just like a sheet. The buckles can be difficult to unclasp as well. OVERALL: If you have a VERY THIN horse this blanket would probably work quite well for you, but if you have a normal-sized-barreled horse then you probably won't be happy... even for the price. December 15, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good quality blanket This is a very good blanket for the price. It fits my gelding better than any other that I have found. He always has trouble with blankets fitting on his shoulders. It seems to be well made and good quality. The only downfall is the color choice. I purchased the blue paisley and wow what a color. My gelding is very noticable in it. I would recommend this blanket. December 15, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rad! And just as pictured I got the plum paisley one and I think it is adorable! My girl looks so freakin' cute in it. She's the envy of everyone at the barn. It pretty much looks exactly as pictured, so if you don't like paisley, go for the solid color. It feels well made and sturdy, and it is warm! November 30, 2011
<<prev2 3 next>>