> Supplements > Weight Gain > Item # SLT120837

Farnam Weight Builder


Eligible for free e-certification with purchase
Less than $0.88/DAY
(32 day supply)


In Stock. Usually Ships within 24 hours.
Less than $0.67/DAY
(112 day supply)


In Stock. Usually Ships within 24 hours.
Shipping weight = 9.00 lbs.


Sometimes, manufacturers require that products be advertised only at their suggested prices. When we choose to sell these items for less, we display the sale price only in the cart. To see the price, click Add to Cart.


Frequently Bought Together:

Sometimes, manufacturers require that products be advertised only at their suggested prices. When we choose to sell these items for less, we display the sale price only in the cart. To see the price, click Add to Cart.

Product Summary:

Farnam Weight Builder

Weight Builder by Farnam is a high calorie supplements that is rich in Omega-3 fatty acids. This powerful supplement helps support skin and coat conditioning while also providing fuel necessary for top-level performance.

Weight Builder for Horses is a revolutionary feed supplement that contains over twice the calories found in an equal amount of grain -- but with none of the dangers!
  • Provides extra calories in the form of fat for maintaining body condition and fuel for performance without the risk of colic associated with grain feeding*
  • Contains flax meal which is high in omega-3 fatty acids
  • Contains protein, fat, fiber, calcium and phosphorus in guaranteed analysis
  • Calcium : phosphorus ratio is balanced so it can be fed with other supplements
  • Also enhances skin and coat condition
  • Available in 8 lb and 28 lb sizes
*Specifically, colic caused by grain. This product does not claim to prevent colic, but reduces the risk of colic compared to feeding more grain


Includes 2 oz. scoop.

- To improve skin and coat condition, feed one scoop (2 oz.) daily with regular grain ration.

- For weight gain, feed 2 scoops (4 oz.) daily with regular grain ration.
Depending on a horse's activity level and condition, additional Weight Builder may be fed with no adverse effects.
Downloadable Resources
Product LabelManufacturer Information
MSDS SheetManufacturer Information

Product Reviews by Customers

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 30 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Okay I have a gelding that is a hard keeper; he was on this product over the winter to help put on weight. He didn't gain weight but who knows how he would have done without the nutrients from this product over the winter? He ate the product just fine; worked him up to max dose. Product is so easy to get I would try on another horse if needed. September 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great but a little costly My old gelding who is a very hard keeper at 28-29 is on this in the fall to bulk him up for winter. it works really well but not as much if he's on it for more than a month or two at a time don't know if it's just him or something in the product. But it does work really really well, just a little pricey when you are broke... September 12, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not very good... I have a 16h, 1000 pound 14 year old QH gelding. He is not a picky eater at all, but had a hard time finishing the huge scoop you must put in their feed. It must not have tasted very good to him, although I thought it had a pleasant smell which is almost like pumpkin pie (weird). I wouldn't say he's a real hard keeper, but my other horses hold their weight better. So I started him on this, and I didn't see any improvement. I also started him extremely slow, and it gave him diarrhea which is very uncommon for him. After 3 days, the diarrhea stopped and I kept a close eye on his weight via measuring tape (probably not the most reliable way, but it's still some way of measuring). He did not gain weight, and his exercise routine was kept the same. So, I really did try to do the product justice, but I think this is a waste of money. My horse doesn't have ulcers or any health problems. Just didn't work for him. August 8, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Might not be the best for picky eaters, great tran I have a 5 year old gelding that needed a bit of more weight. He is a very picky eater and I have found him to be extremely picky when it comes to powdered supplements. To get the weight he needed, I fed him a lot of this supplement. Though, found about half of it uneaten and untouch in his grain bin. I dropped him down to a maintence scoop to hair and coat and he still didn't completely eat it. For the pick eaters, try a pelleted supplement. Although Farnam Weight Builder put on 50 pounds to my gelding and completely changed his hair coat. From a shaggy looking light buckskin to a flat coated, golden and dappled out buckskin, he looks very sleek now. Even without the full amount of supplement being eaten every day. I think this is a great product to gain a couple pounds here and there, but not ideal for the picky eater or an extreme weight gain. March 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by FANTASTIC PRODUCT I have used this on several different horses over the years, it helps them gain weight and give them an amazing sheen to their coat. The horses readily eat it, even straight....they love it! Prevent founder from over feeding, use this product TO THE TB PEOPLE.... IF THEY ARE HARD KEEPERS AND NOT GAINING WEIGHT.... CHECK YOUR HORSES FOR ULCERS! February 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good It didn't do as great as i'd hoped (reading the past reviews) but there was DEFINENTLY an improvement, my mare lost alot of weight do to a surprise snowstorm, and now she just needs filling out on her spine and a little more on her butt. But this product definently did the trick, helped with her appetite too! thanks farnam! February 27, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Weight Builder did not build weight... My 9yr old OTTB gelding is a hard keeper and needed to gain some weight. I was really hoping this would help and was very happy to see that he would lick the bucket clean to get every last bit, However the "Weight Builder" did nothing for building. it did prevent weight loss but since there was no real improvement (not even in his coat) I won't be buying again. January 15, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Didn't work for me I bought this for my 7yo TB mare. She's been thin since I bought her and I've been trying to fatten her up big time with no luck. I bought this thinking it would help (reading the past reviews) but it didn't. Not even a pound gained :( Waste of money for me. December 8, 2011
  • 2015-11-29 T10:22:16.263-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_30, tr_30
  • loc_en_US, sid_SLT120837, stg, sort_default
2 3 next>>
Browse 5 questions and 20 answers
Hide answersShow all answers | Sort by
Why did you choose this? Store
Its true this item is gain weight for horse feed them with horse grain you will see in 2 weeks.
Carlos C on Oct 16, 2015
works good
daniel c on Jul 10, 2015
Seems to help my horses gain a little weight or at least keep some on.
L O on Sep 15, 2015
To add weight on one of my horses.
JANICE A on Dec 11, 2014
Fat content of this product?
A shopper on May 29, 2014
Best Answer: Listed as 40%. Easy to feed and doesn't cause colic issues the way grain can, or diarrhea the way too much oil can. This has kept my 27 year old Thoroughbred going great.
Reply · Report · JENNIFER N on Jun 11, 2014
· Add Answer · I Have This Question Too (0)
can you use this for dogs?
A shopper on Feb 21, 2015
Best Answer: I am not sure. The container does not mention canines. Additionally i think it is pretty sweet and may not have the right protein structure to help a dog gain weight. Works well on horses though.
Reply · Report · ALYSHA A on Feb 21, 2015
· Add Answer · I Have This Question Too (0)
I justwould like to know if it in pellet form or powder form?
A shopper on Feb 28, 2014
Best Answer: it is a powder form, but not a fine powder, your horse will enjoy the taste my two do, I just mix a small amount of water and small amount of their grain mix in with it and they eat it right up.
Reply · Report · SANDRA R on Mar 1, 2014
· Add Answer · I Have This Question Too (0)
What is the dosage for a 25 in. mini horse who needs weight?
Hayley H on Jun 29, 2015
Best Answer: Please view the link to the feeding instructions.
Reply · Report · Alexis KStaff on Jun 30, 2015
· Add Answer · I Have This Question Too (0)