Fortiflex Over-the-Fence Waterer

Eligible for free e-certification with purchase
Fortiflex Over-the-Fence Waterer


Buy 2 or more, each at $41.39
Buy 3 or more, each at $40.49

In Stock. Usually Ships within 24 hours.

Quantity discount will reflect in cart.

Shipping weight = 10.00 lbs.


Sometimes, manufacturers require that products be advertised only at their suggested prices. When we choose to sell these items for less, we display the sale price only in the cart. To see the price, click Add to Cart.

Frequently Bought Together:

Sometimes, manufacturers require that products be advertised only at their suggested prices. When we choose to sell these items for less, we display the sale price only in the cart. To see the price, click Add to Cart.

Product Summary:

Ships to Canada
Fortiflex Over-the-Fence Waterer 
Made with Fortiflex toughness to stand up to the elements, this over the fence waterer offers horses or large animals a constant supply of fresh drinking water. It's perfect for those hot summer days!
  • Heavy-duty construction
  • Simple one-step-connect to garden hose or 1/2" pipe
  • Recessed plug and drain for easy cleaning
  • Can be used over-the-fence or on the wall with adjustable mounting brackets
  • Resists cold weather cracking
  • Easy to assemble
  • Comes with hardware for mounting
Item Specifications:
20 quart/5 Gallon
Fortalloy-Rubber blend 
Downloadable Resources
Assembly InstructionsAssembly Instructions

Product Reviews by Customers

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 11 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Wish it worked better Float worked for about 4 days, then even with multiple adjustment attempts, just allowed water to dribble over the top of bucket. Very dissapointed. July 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by WONDERFUL!!!!! I searched the net over and over and couldn't find a better deal. This has the good rubber/plastic material that resists craking. It came with an extra large hole in the bottom with a really nice plug. Usually you get a flimsy rubber plug on these and this one had a really nice plastic one instead. It was very easy to put together even with only one good hand to use. I will defineately be buying more from Thanks for having such a nice, user friendly product. July 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by 5 stars This waterer is great! It handles the water pressure from the house where other waterers would not close all the way and constantly drip, i plan on buying more! July 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dogs love them too! Not only are these great for horses but my Dogs love it too. In the heat of summer they can dig in it, splash around and get cooled off with out damaging the float valve that's protected by the screwed on cover. It's big enough for them to play in but not so big it's a huge chore to clean it. The brackets on the back can slide through chain link so it stays in place and the dogs wont pull it away from the fence. Great buy and holds up for years. July 4, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Practical / Breaks easily We bought two of them, and they worked great, the horses, along with the birds love them. One of them broke at the connection going into the bucket. It broke along the threads, and I have not been able to find replacement parts. For the time and money I have spent to try to fix it, I will just have to buy a new one. Other than that, they do work great. January 29, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome product!!!!! This is a great product, I have had mine for a couple of months, and my fillies love it. Living in OK, running out of water is not an option, and I can rest assured that with this waterer I don't have to worry about that. Wish I would have gotten one a long time ago. Am going to order more. Thank you to Stateline for selling such a quality item. July 21, 2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great, inexpensive waterer This come disassembled and wil take about 5 minute each to put together. We installe 3 of them in about 30 minutes. The waterer had a handy drain valve at the base, one reviewer complained this is easy to remove - they either bought an old model or are reviewing the wrong product, all ours had SCREW type plugs that create a nice tight seal and even the most ingenius horse could not remove. The drain makes cleaning a breeze. One complaint is the drain sits about 1/4 inch higher than the bottom of the drain opening. So to completely empty the unit you need to mop out the remaining water - not a problem if you usully have these in use all the time, but a problem is you use them occasionally and want to remove all the water to deter mosquitos. No leaks. Fits with standard off the shelf connectors. I would buy again, and would recommend to anyone. July 3, 2010
Rated 5 out of 5 Best Waterer on the Market This is the metal to rust and it will keep on ticking for along time. Getting another one today for other horse,,great product and a great price..thank you.. October 28, 2009
  • 2015-11-30 T10:27:27.394-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_11, tr_11
  • loc_en_US, sid_BSD20, stg, sort_default
2 next>>
Browse 8 questions and 48 answers
Hide answersShow all answers | Sort by
Why did you choose this? Store
easy to mountand high volume
NICOLE D on Aug 26, 2014
Great product- - However, the drain plug at the base of waterer leaks. We found that the company needs to send a larger O ring for inside the bottom of the drain plug, then it works fine!
Jon H on May 22, 2014
I have used these waterers for serveral years. The only reason I am having to replace them is because we have hard water and the connections get corroded and start leaking but that has nothing to do with the waterer it self. They are a little difficult to clean because they are so deep but not too bad.
KIM M on Jun 18, 2014
Good quality very affordable water, horses love it too.
PEGGY K on Apr 30, 2014
I need to replace the float where can I find one? I bought one at the feed store that looked like the one that came with the water but it does not work.
A shopper on Mar 2, 2014
Best Answer: After research, found an 800 number to order. Item number 5301123 $11.13 plus shipping. one eight hundred four six eight four four six zero
Reply · Report · Pamela on Jun 12, 2014
· Add Answer · I Have This Question Too (2)
Can you connect this waterer to a yard hydrant or will it cause a backflow issue?
emwinter on May 20, 2015
Best Answer: Works fine with spigot. We have 3 hooked onto 2 spigots, using a "Y" to split the flow between 2 waterers. No backflow issues yet. But don't turn handle up any higher than necessary to keep waters filled. If you do,connect- ors can leak,no matter where they are along the line.
Reply · Report · Claudia E on May 20, 2015
· Add Answer · I Have This Question Too (0)
how big is it?
A shopper on Jan 3, 2015
Best Answer: It is very deep. I don't know what the measurements are but I liked that compared to the other ones I have purchased because the water doesn't come up to the top so no overflow. I have had no problems with mine. I purchased 5 of them and they are used in different parts of pastures and corrals. I even have one I with my cows.
Reply · Report · KIM M on Jan 3, 2015
· Add Answer · I Have This Question Too (0)
Does the waterer come with the hose?
A shopper on Feb 17, 2014
Best Answer: No it didn't. My barn manager supplies the hoses for us.

One extra I bought at the hardware store was a valve that goes between a hose and faucet. I put it between the waterer and the hose so I can turn off the water for cleaning easily.
Reply · Report · VICTORIA S on Feb 17, 2014
· Add Answer · I Have This Question Too (0)
How does this water bucket attach to the fence?
Kathy Z on Feb 14, 2014
Best Answer: It's really easy. It has a metal L bracket on each side of the bucket back. They don't show in the picture on this site. Each bracket has a keyhole slot or two. You can have them facing up to mount on a wall in a stall like I did, or down to hang over a fence. They are adjustable in and out so if your fence rail is wider than normal you can adjust them. If you look closely at the picture on this site you call see three screws on the top sides at the back. These not only hold down the cover over the fill valve, but double as the back and forth adjustment of the L brackets. It's really a nice bucket. Like I said I use it as an automatic waterer in a stall. I have a 8 year old Thoroughbred mare and haven't had any problems with it. Just make sure you remove the cover over the fill valve now and then and scrub with a brush as crud can build up behind the cover and around the fill valve.

Buy it! You won't regret it!
Reply · Report · CHRIS J on Feb 15, 2014
· Add Answer · I Have This Question Too (0)
How many gallons of water?
H L on Aug 7, 2014
Best Answer: It holds a full 5 gallons. It's a very sturdy and functional waterer that I will buy again!
Reply · Report · LESLIE ANNE O on Aug 8, 2014
· Add Answer · I Have This Question Too (0)
does this come in black?
Penny W on Nov 5, 2014
Best Answer: This does not come in black, only green is available.
Reply · Report · Caitlin BStaff on Nov 5, 2014
· Add Answer · I Have This Question Too (0)