Himalayan Salt for Horses


Eligible for free e-certification with purchase


Oversold. Est. In Stock by 12/07/2015.


Oversold. Est. In Stock by 03/01/2016.
Shipping weight = 2.70 lbs.


Sometimes, manufacturers require that products be advertised only at their suggested prices. When we choose to sell these items for less, we display the sale price only in the cart. To see the price, click Add to Cart.

The selected item is temporarily unavailable for sale. Please check back soon!

Product Summary:

Himalayan Salt on a Rope

Give your horse a little treat with Himalayan salt for horses. Known as “white gold” in many parts of the world, Himalayan rock salt is the purest form of salt available on earth.
Mined from ancient deposits deep in the Himalayas, these rock hard salt licks contain many of the valuable minerals your horse needs to promote a healthy balance in the body.  Himalayan salt encourages your horses to drink which can aid in the prevention of any digestion problems.
Himalayan salt licks are resistant to rain and biting, meaning they will last longer!

  • Iron, potassium, and magnesium, which are  particularly useful in replenishing electrolytes lost during hard work. 
  • Literally 'rock hard' so horses are unable to bite chunks off--a problem which can occur with softer 'pressed' salt licks

Product Reviews by Customers

Rated 5 out of 5 by 17 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ponies Love It!! This is a great product! You can hang it just about anywhere and since it is off the ground you waste less of it. Our ponies love it and will lick it until I think their tongues are getting soar. I really think it is better then any other salt lick out there. They just shine since we started hanging these around. The blocks do last awhile too. 3 ponies licking 2 blocks of salt will last approx. 8-10 weeks if kept out of the rain. We all love it and have no plans of changing to anything else in the future. August 30, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect! I buy one or two of these every time I place an order here-- especially with the cheap shipping going on right now. My mare loves these, and they fit on her Jolly Stall snack well, so instead of feeding her sugar with the snack holder I'm feeding her salt. They don't last that long for her- 4.4 lbs lasts about a month- but she loves them and they're extremely cheap so I buy them here all the time! April 3, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent! I hung this up in my mare's stall in hopes that it would not only be good for her, but would keep her occupied in her stall when she had to stay in. She loves it! Given, she's draining water buckets like mad, I am happy she is enjoying the salt lick. February 7, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by He Loves It!! I put it up as soon as I got to the barn. He loved it so much that he did not stop licking it for 20 minutes straight. I think he only stopped because his tongue got tired. Best decision I made to buy this. January 31, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE THIS BLOCK!!! My horse absolutely loves this salt block. He goes crazy over it and is not very fond of regular salt blocks. Ever since ive been giving him this block ive notices his coat looking better cause its full of minerals and everything. I recommend this to anyone who wants to change up there regular salt block once in awhile. December 30, 2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Horse loves it! I put one of these up in my 7 month old filly's stall and after three weeks it is nearly gone. She seems to absolutely love it. November 15, 2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by My horse loves it! I have one of the pickiest horses there are, he hates peppermint, carrots, bannanas, oats anything pretty much except for apples, his feed and grass. He however loves this! I hung it up in his stall and he loves playing with it! I also love the fact that he actually is licking something that is good for him and not processed 20x. September 16, 2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Horses LOVE this! I hung one of these up in the pasture of my field-boarded horses. They LOVE it, and choose it over the big red and white blocks on the ground. The small size lasted 6 months with 3 horses in the field. July 19, 2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by my horse loves this He licks it all the time... it's almost gone, I should get him a bigger one next time ;) May 20, 2010
  • 2015-11-30 T10:28:45.420-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_17, tr_17
  • loc_en_US, sid_SLT901558, stg, sort_default
Browse 4 questions and 30 answers
Hide answersShow all answers | Sort by
Why did you choose this?
Horse.com Store
Horse love these ! No more red mineral blocks for them .
BARB R on Sep 2, 2015
Have used these for a couple of years now, some horses like to amuse themselves with the hanging block and seem to love the taste, and I know they are getting a great product. I only use ground Himalayan salt on my own food ( bought specifically for humans of course).
Amanda H on Jun 16, 2015
Easy to use in stall great for young horses
MARY BETH D on Jun 22, 2015
We travel a lot with our horses. I like the rope - it is a convenient way to provide free choice salt away from home. Home is where you hang your salt!
GINA W on Mar 23, 2015
Could a horse bit through the rope?
A shopper on Apr 25, 2015
Best Answer: They "could" but it would take a lot of chewing. The ropes that came on the four I ordered where very stiff and had a bit of copper wire woven into them. I have used these for four very "everything" thats not nailed down must be a toy geldings. One of which is a 18hh, 2000lb draft who chews on everything...the rope has never been chewed on or through and holds up very well even after they have eaten the salt off them...ive used the rope bits to hang other toys!
Reply · Report · Sandra W on Apr 25, 2015
· Add Answer · I Have This Question Too (1)
Does this provide any nutrients?
bob r on Dec 6, 2014
Best Answer: Yes. It provides sodium and chloride. Most horses require 1-2 ounces per day, more in hot weather and when they are expending more energy.
Reply (1) · Report · TIMOTHY S on Dec 8, 2014
· Add Answer · I Have This Question Too (0)
is there freight on this?
A shopper on Jun 20, 2015
Best Answer: I can't remember the specifics of this transactions but I can tell you that I typically wait until horse,com offers their free shipping sale/offer. Great deal! On heavier items I sometimes need to pay a small 'over-weight' shipping fee. I have found that it even with this small fee it is usually better price then I can get elsewhere. I hope that helps.
Reply · Report · SUNDA L on Jun 24, 2015
· Add Answer · I Have This Question Too (0)