Natural Horse Vet Bug Check


Eligible for free e-certification with purchase
Less than $0.60/DAY
(64 day supply)


In Stock. Usually Ships within 24 hours.
Less than $0.34/DAY
(320 day supply)


In Stock. Usually Ships within 24 hours.
Less than $0.28/DAY
(960 day supply)


In Stock. Usually Ships within 24 hours.
Shipping weight = 2.50 lbs.


Sometimes, manufacturers require that products be advertised only at their suggested prices. When we choose to sell these items for less, we display the sale price only in the cart. To see the price, click Add to Cart.


Product Summary:

Bug Check by Natural Horse Vet
Repels flying pests and maintains healthy skin and coat from the inside out!

A new alternative to garlic; for an average horse, feed 1 scoop per day for 2 weeks, then 1/2 scoop per day. In difficult situations, 4 scoops can be fed safely.

This product is made of Garlic, yeast and grape seed extract to deter biting flies and diatomaceous earth to discourage insect breeding in manure. Non-Toxic & Chemical Free. Promotes and maintains healthy skin and coat from the inside out.

Horses & Cattle: Provide at the rate of 1 scoop or more daily per 1000 lbs. of body weight for two to three weeks. Maintenance: provide 1/2 scoop or more daily. For difficult situations, up to 4 scoops per 1000 lbs. body weight may be given daily. 

Crude Protein .........4 % Min.
Crude Fat............3.5 % Min.
Crude Fiber...........20 % Max.
Thiamine..............16,000 mg

Ground Dried Grape & Seed Pomace, Distiller Grains, Diatomaceous Earth, Garlic Powder, Brewers Yeast, Mechanically Extracted Soybean Oil, Thiamine Monohydrate

2 lb. (up to 64 day supply)
10 lbs. (up to 320 day supply)
30 lbs. (up to 960 day supply)  (30 lb. Comes in a bag, Scoop does not come with product.)


Downloadable Resources
MSDS SheetManufacturer Information
Product LabelManufacturer Information

Product Reviews by Customers

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 18 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by This does work This is a great product if you can get your horses to eat it. By this fall even the horses that usually ate the Bug Check were picking it out. I did a fecal check on one of our horses after he had been on this product for two months and he checked negative for intestinal worms..must be the DE in the ingredients. Hope the manufacturer will work on a more horse appealing taste! November 5, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst ever Horses don't like it and it doesn't work. was using simplifly and had very few flys. Switched to Bugcheck and the fly population tripled. My horses are miserable! Wasted 80 bucks.for 10lbs. Never again!'!!! September 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Product I have 2 horses that have problems with fly bites making them itch and have sores in the summer. I tried Bug Check this year and it has help alot. Will use is again. August 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by follow up: it works! i reviewed before that my horses ate it, and now i know it definitely works! we see flies on them, but no stomping, shaking, or swollen lumps! they land, but do not bite. and it may be our imagination but we think we see fewer ticks as well! as for the price, i would pay (almost) anything for the kind of relief we get from bug check. October 8, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by This is a must try After using this product for 3 weeks I have noticed a big drop in insect related problems. My bays legs are usually a mess by this time of year and much to our amazement he has very few bites so far... Looks as if we will save enough money on fly spray to pay for "Bug Check". Worth a try. May 5, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Bug Check I noticed it worked in 2wks. Only bad thing it is so much powder you have to feed. My pony refused to eat it period after 2wks. Wouldn't touch it with sugar or any sweet stuff. So don't buy if you have a picky eater..waste of your money. If you do not have a picky eater perfect!! I did see less flies in stall and on him. So does work, just not too tasty to horses. April 26, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by 3rd Season - Won't go without it!! I love this product. This is my third year using it. The best advice I can give it to "stick with it". You won't see immediate results, but long term you will and don't start in the middle of the summer, start in the spring and use until the fall. April 5, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Expensive, but it works! Used together with Flysect citronella spray, this allowed my filly with sweet itch (an allergy to tiny biting no-see-ums) to graze and be in the field 24/7 in good weather without losing her belly hair and ending up raw. She'll eat it readily (it isn't all garlic) and after a miserable year where I sprayed her, fly sheeted her and rubbed Vaseline on her belly to keep her from being raw and itchy in the field, it looked like try this or forget summer turnout. This summer, she didn't even need her fly sheet with belly band. Twice daily fly spray and a once daily scoop of Bug check, and she has all her belly hair and is far more comfortable! October 16, 2010
  • 2015-11-28 T10:33:47.219-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_18, tr_18
  • loc_en_US, sid_SLT900181, stg, sort_default
2 next>>
Browse 5 questions and 24 answers
Hide answersShow all answers | Sort by
Why did you choose this? Store
I've been using this product for 8 years. It does a good job keeping the fly population down. My horses don't have problems with flies. I would recommend this to anyone who has horses.
VANESSA D on Mar 2, 2015
Great reviews
Jeanette W on Nov 30, 2014
i have a red horse that the no see ums get to him.i am hoping this works for him
DIANE G on Jan 23, 2015
This is the first summer I have used this product. I reordered it and it seems to be helping the fly issues. There are a lot less around the fresh manure. Will know for sure when the weather gets hot.
DANA R on Jun 16, 2014
Is this ok to feed with the sho glo vitamin supplement?
Susie on Jun 17, 2015
Best Answer: I'm sorry, I don't know the answer to that question. I have never used sho glo. If I was you, I would send an inquiry to the Natural Vet, the company that makes the Bug Check product and find out from them.
Reply (1) · Report · MARY G on Jun 17, 2015
· Add Answer · I Have This Question Too (0)
Is this product ok for cows too?
Gayle S on Jul 22, 2015
Best Answer: Yes, it is great for cows, sheep, goats etc. They make a separate formula for dogs, cats. I have used this for 5 years on my two horses. I buy the 10lb. size. I swear it works on most flies but the gnats and horse fly are still around. I use this and the fly predators and the big fly traps. This year is the first year that I bought the formula for dogs and cats. Everyone was complaining about the bad flea season and I never saw them scratch. The horse are ok with the taste, the cats hate it. This won't eliminate all flies but it sure does help keep the livestock a little more comfortable.
Reply (1) · Report · CLAUDIA B on Jul 23, 2015
· Add Answer · I Have This Question Too (0)
What happened to the larger size? I'd like to order the 30-lb size, not 2 lb!
ASHLEY M on Mar 17, 2015
Best Answer: Oh no, I hope they still make the larger size! With 4 horses the 2 lb is not enough. I hope the manufacturers respond.
Reply · Report · MARY G on Mar 18, 2015
· Add Answer · I Have This Question Too (0)
Do you have the 10 lb size that could ship soon?
A shopper on Aug 6, 2015
Best Answer: The 10 lb size is in stock right now and available for immediate shipment.
Reply · Report · Maria PStaff on Aug 7, 2015
· Add Answer · I Have This Question Too (0)