Silver Fox English Starter Set

Free Economy Shipping!
From $169.99

SIZE OUR PRICE
14

Select your product options above to view the stock and delivery information.
15

Select your product options above to view the stock and delivery information.
16

Select your product options above to view the stock and delivery information.
17

Select your product options above to view the stock and delivery information.
18

Select your product options above to view the stock and delivery information.

close

Sometimes, manufacturers require that products be advertised only at their suggested prices. When we choose to sell these items for less, we display the sale price only in the cart. To see the price, click Add to Cart.

Product Summary:

Silver Fox® All Purpose Starter Saddle Package

This Economy English Starter Set is great for beginners. The package includes an all-purpose jumping saddle with traditional deep seat and grain leather jockeys and flaps with suede leather knee rolls. Saddle comes with a regular tree to fit most Quarter horses.
Set also includes: 4 1/2" stirrup irons, 1" x 54" stirrup leathers, a 48" web girth and a horse-size snaffle bridle complete with 5/8" x 54" reins and  5" bit.  Accessories styles and sizes may vary. 

Item Specifications:

Seat sizes / corresponding gullet sizes:

14" / 6½"
15" / 6¾"
16" / 6¾"
17" / 7"
18" / 7¼" 

Saddle Weight Only:

14” 9 lbs
15” 10 lbs
16” 11 lbs
17” 12 lbs
18” 13 lbs
19” 14 lbs
 
Flap Length:
16
"
Customers Also Bought:

Product Reviews by Customers

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 30 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not too great, but... Well to start off, I didn't buy this. My friend who rides at the same barn as me got this as a Christmas gift. She uses the saddle on a Palomino pony, and it fits her wonderfully. I'm not sure of the quality, because I don't use it. The bridle doesn't fit the palomino pony. It's actually(I think) been used on a Thoroughbred mare. The bridle is made for a horse with a long, and some-what skinny face. I use it now on my Mustang mare. It's 'almost' too long on her, but it works. So far I like it, I've only used it once. The nose/chin piece is a bit big, and the bit that's on it is a full-cheek snaffle, and the sides keep getting stuck under the nose piece of the bridle. But I like it. It's fair quality. Good beginner package. As for the girth though, do NOT use it. It's not safe!! I have been told by MANY horse people NEVER to use this kind of girth. Invest in a better girth. May 14, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by There is a reason the entire package is $169.99 Cheap. Cheap. Cheap. SO bad for the horse. Just don't get it. May 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Should I buy???!! I ride western and wanted to change it up a little by buying this saddle, but there are soo many good coments and bad! I just wanted the saddle to use on my Quarter horse for trail riding or just getting into shape. please comment and tell me if i should buy this item or not. Thank you May 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a Great Deal can't go wrong here April 23, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Save Up! I got this saddle because I was in hish need for one and it was all I could afford at the time. Come to find out after 2 weeks, the gullet has already ripped away from the saddle, the bridle snapped in half when I tried to put it on my horse, the "leather" has rubbed off, suede knee roll ripped open, tree is crooked, and the girth is already ripping. Save up and extra !00$ and get a wintec..... ITS WORTH IT! April 20, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by It Works I received my first of this saddle, and was very disappointed. The leather was dry and actually ripping in spots. I called and complained, and they promised me a replacement. It took a while, but the replacement saddle is ten times better. The leather is smooth and the saddle is put together really well. I don't see it lasting long time, but it works well for what I need it. April 8, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by HORRIBLE They sent me the saddle broken, and if the saddle is brooken, it will hurt your horse! Like you may be doing is reading all the good reviews and skipping the bad reviews like I did...DON'T BUY IT! Even if your kids that ride say diffrent, its a horrible saddle. BUY A DIFFRENT BRAND, such as Wintec. Save this 200 dollars! March 28, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible Saddle!!!! WASTE OF $$ This is my first saddle and I got it because of the price. Come to find out the tree is not put together properly and causes my thoroughbred extreme pain (he will go on bucking fits) I am now having to get a new saddle because I can't ride him in it!! Get a better saddle the leather is crap and the die comes off on your hands!!! March 25, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by OMG i was planning on getting this saddle as my first saddle because its a package and the price before i got it though my friend bought it to and guess wat! The tree(i think thats wat my instructer said) was crooked! it wasnt even put together correctly! March 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect 1st saddle set This is a value set, not a work of leather art. It's not supposed to be great - it's supposed to be good. It does its job. The leather is fine. It's a bit stiff but it's not supposed to be top-quality leather. It is, however, a quality product for the price. I recommend it to anyone who is just starting out, or for anyone who needs to tack up on a budget. As others have stated, though, buy a better girth, and you might consider a better snaffle. At this price, those two additional items won't break the bank. March 3, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Piece of JUNK After reading all the reviews I selected to give this a try. Afterall, it had more positive than negative reviews. BIG MISTAKE!!! Cracking leather,RUSTING stirrup bars & irons,and the run around from customer support equal to a 5K. The rusting is a safety issue AND what has excess moisture done to the tree? Now, 3 weeks later my credit card has not been credited in the amount charged although they have the saddle. STAY AWAY FROM THIS SADDLE. I am now test riding a saddle from SmartPack and their customer service is what it really should be. Don't walk RUN from this product. I'd give it negative stars if it was an option. Buyer beware!!! February 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by With patience is a wonderful starter! Take time to slowly infuse lexol into the leather and ride in it often and the saddle might be the only one you'll feel right in. I do not like the feel of oversoft saddles now. We didn't have much back when I began jumping lessons and we settled on a Granada/Silver Fox. That was 30+ years ago. It is being used by my niece now for her 1st english saddle and I found an exact model for $150 (no extras) and use that now. Mine fit my horse perfectly and that was my #1 concern. The skirt over the stirrup bars is more lumpy than I wished at 1st, but I broke in after a couple of weeks. I had bruises for a small time then the saddle reshaped and broke in. I rode a LOT so that combined with careful lexol treatments the leather was super pliable and buttery, nothing like these cheap horrible Pakistani "saddles" on ebay. beware anything out of Illinois from "stallion tack" or their other crap ebay names. If you do go for it and the saddle doesn't work, you can resell it for what you paid, no problem. I do recommend this saddle for beginners, especially if your horse approves! Great price! February 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great beginner saddle!! This saddle is a pretty good saddle. i have had this saddle for about 5 years and it still looks great. the black kind of wore off around the leg area. Also this saddle has never fit any of my horses its wayy to wide. i have never used the girth its awful. But i love the saddle pad and the bridle!! over all its a great saddle to begin on! January 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by excelent saddle this is a great stater saddle it fits my 15.2 hand thoroughbred mare perfect. the girth is really terrable though it is very small thats why i gave it a 4 star for pet approval but overal its a pretty good saddle January 11, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by My First English Saddle I bought this for my qh mare as my first english saddle. I bought it myself and being my age it is a great price. I taught myself how to jump in this saddle. Getting into two-point is very nice and easy. The girth i didn't use was to small for my horse and is flimsy wouldn't trust it. The bridle is also very nice. Over all this is a great saddle to buy. I jump and trail ride in it all the time. Great deal and buy for what you get. December 27, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT FOR EVERY ONE EVEN EPERENCED RIDERS!!! wow i love this saddle i am a jumper and i have a arabian horse big one thow and it says this saddles for beginner but im experenced and its great i just made one change i have like 50 girths and my horse likes her regular girth better so i used mine instead but i sure do love this saddle cause all y other saddle i pad thousands for but not this one December 24, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT Saddle and stuff for a GREAT PRICE! I got this saddle not too long ago, and I've ridden in it quite a few times, and I love it. I mainly ride Western, but wanted to ride English too, so I got this not expecting much, but the saddle itself is very nice quality and is very sturdy. The leather is still stiff, but I haven't had it long, so I don't know if it'll soften up or not, but either way it's a nice saddle. It's great for anything really you want to do. I event in it. The stirrups and leathers it comes with are pretty good too! The leathers are kind of stiff still, but again, I've not had it for very long. The bridle is pretty big, and the girth is a rope type instead of the stretchy kind. It fits my 14hh POA decently, but a stockier-built horse might need a bigger size. The reins are really long, so I'm planning on ordering some rubber ones. Overall, this was a great buy and I highly recommend it to anyone who's looking to get into English riding, or just needs a lesson saddle for a good price! December 22, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT BANG FOR BUCK!!!! I received this saddle and was surprised how well it was put together. I did not want to spend alot of money on lesson saddle know it was going to get beat-up! I was pleasantly surprised how comfy it is too. I use it 3-4 x a week and it is holding up great!!! I am a realist and did not expect much but VERY happy with this saddle. I bought 2 more :) December 2, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super! I ordered this saddle and got it quite fast, I was expecting a little more from the bridle, bit and girth. Unfortunatly the girth is horrid; the girth is nothing like what it is in the picture, its the rope kind. And don't expect to use the girth unless you have a tiny horse. And for the size of the girth the bridle is HUGE!! I had to get an old english bridle from my sister to be able to ride! The bit is usable but not for my horse(to big). Although there are problems, this saddle is great and I do reccomend it. November 3, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great For The Price I love this saddle. I just started doing english about a year ago and needed a a good starter set. So this was my first english saddle and it did great. I still use it and it's still in perfect shape. A girl at my barn also orderd this saddle and loved it too. Only thing is that the girth is very cheap so i got a new one. I would recommend to anyone looking for a quick and cheap buy.:) October 21, 2011
<<prev2 3 next>>

Questions and Answers by TurnTo: