Starbar Bite Free Stable Fly Trap

Eligible for free e-certification with purchase
Starbar Bite Free Stable Fly Trap


In Stock. Usually Ships within 24 hours.
Shipping weight = 0.82 lb.


Sometimes, manufacturers require that products be advertised only at their suggested prices. When we choose to sell these items for less, we display the sale price only in the cart. To see the price, click Add to Cart.


Frequently Bought Together:

Sometimes, manufacturers require that products be advertised only at their suggested prices. When we choose to sell these items for less, we display the sale price only in the cart. To see the price, click Add to Cart.

Product Summary:

No insecticides!
Easy and economical to use – holds more than other sticky traps.

  • Disposable – when full, just throw away
  • Weatherproof – special adhesive won’t melt or wash away
  • Compact size – offers a 350 degrees trapping surface that holds 8,000 flies
  • Ideal for use around stables, cattle ranches, poultry operations, kennels, restaurants, home and garden.
  • Instructions For Use:
    Remove trap from box by the black end caps. Do not touch the clear mid-section-it is covered with sticky adhesive. Place trap in direct sunlight preferably 10 feet away from structures. Keep out of reach of children and pets.

    For Best Results
    Set trap up to 4 feet off the ground, in the Biting Fly Zone. Place it in a highly visible spot where stable flies can easily see the trap. Keep trap clear of grass and other vegetation.
    Place traps outside of horse paddocks, livestock pens and kennels where animals and children won`t disturb them.
    Stable flies of ten lurk in trees, weeds, bushes and fence lines near their hosts. Open areas near these hiding spots make good trap locations. In large open areas, space traps every 50-100 feet.

    To Remove Adhesive
    If the traps adhesive gets on skin or clothing, remove it with waterless hand cleaner, then wash with mild soap and water. If on hair or animal fur, rub area well with salad oil, baby oil or mineral oil to completely dissolve adhesive. Wash with a mild soap or shampoo and rinse well. Repeat if necessary.
    Downloadable Resources
    Product LabelManufacturer Information
    MSDS SheetManufacturer Information

    Product Reviews by Customers

    Rated 3.2 out of 5 by 15 reviewers.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Catches Stable Flies I ordered kind of late in the season but will order more next spring. I will probably put mesh around them as suggested by others but so far haven't had a problem with birds. Stable flies are by far the most of what I've caught. (A few wasps and house flies also.) I have hung some on a string across empty bale feeders (we don't use in the summer) seemed like it followed all the location suggestions perfectly. August 29, 2012
    Rated 5 out of 5 by These Work! We have used these for 4 years now,and nothing works better to control biting stable flies!I hang 3 in the shade where the horses like to rest,and the traps fill pretty quickly.I no longer need to use spray on my horses at home. I wish these worked on horseflies too,but they do make life much easier for the horses. July 6, 2012
    Rated 2 out of 5 by Attracts flies but also many beneficial insects to Works but catches beneficial insects and birds This product works great as far as catching flies; however, after 1 week of hanging it I found over 20 bees on it which broke my heart. The beneficial bee population is quickly dwindling and we need all we can get. Additionally, I had this product last year and it caught a butterfly. Small birds can also stick to it. Starbar needs to change the formula so that the bees, birds and butterflies are not attracted. I took mine down and put it in the loft of the barn where it is out of the reach of beneficial creatures and insects. June 18, 2012
    Rated 2 out of 5 by Not Wildlife Friendly This didn't catch any flies. Some mosquitoes. Unfortunately, one small bird. My heart broke to see it caught. PLEASE be careful where you place this trap. Put it no higher than 3 feet. 4 ft is not low enough to prevent birds from getting caught. May 26, 2012
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Work well if in sun These traps works very well, provided they are kept in the sun at the right height, according to the instructions. I have not had a lot of luck at washing them off and reusing them like some people say you can. Unfortunately, we did also catch a bird last year. Since it was only one bird, and literally thousands of flies, we decided to keep using them. My barn cats probably take a bigger hit on the bird population than the traps ever will. However a friend of mine uses the traps and she has had them wrapped in a mesh wire since day one to protect the birds. The wire doesn't seem to affect the trap at all, and she has never caught a bird, so it might be worth wrapping them if you have a lot of birds around. May 24, 2012
    Rated 1 out of 5 by Dangerous trap! I was devastated to find a bluebird struggling to free itself from one of these & it's mate dead on the ground below. I had to put the poor bird out of it's misery as it had destroyed most of it's feathers. The other bird appeared to have broken it's neck getting free of the sticky. Later that day my neighbor & I each had a little gray insect eating bird die the same way!!! These are killing the very birds that eat insects & should be banned, DON'T BUY THEM!!! May 11, 2012
    Rated 1 out of 5 by Great small bird catcher You need to cover the trap with a fine wesh if want to avoid catching small birds. We had the trap up for about five hours and we caught two flies, one beetle, and 7 finches. The trap took out our natural fly predators. April 30, 2012
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Catch They work great if you use them like it says on the box, in the sun and 4' off the ground. I also hang mine in the doorways of the barn to catch wasp!!(Of course I have tall doorways) March 25, 2012
    • 2015-11-28 T10:33:22.682-06:00
    • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
    • cp-1, bvpage1
    • co_hasreviews, tv_15, tr_15
    • loc_en_US, sid_SLT101811, stg, sort_default
    2 next>>
    Browse 4 questions and 45 answers
    Hide answersShow all answers | Sort by
    Why did you choose this? Store
    Convenient for use and the product works.
    Linnea K on Nov 12, 2015
    This is my first time w/ this product and I like what I read regarding ridding the area of some biting flies. Although I will have to "cage" it. To lose a bird or any non target critter is not a good thing.
    ELAINE R on Aug 10, 2015
    I detest gnats, mosquitoes, and other flying pests. While Simplifly takes care of certain flies, I like the back up this Bite Free Stable Fly Trap provides for tons of other flying marauders!
    K I on Aug 14, 2015
    try a new fly trap
    Jennifer B on Jul 17, 2015
    It says you can wash them off to get the dust and flies off so as to reuse. How do you do that?
    A shopper on Apr 17, 2015
    Best Answer: I also read that. I buy two every year and use them all summer. I just don't know how you wash off the tons of insects off....I have not tried and I think it would be very time consuming. You could also buy Tangle Trap which is the sticky on the trap and re-apply.....Not worth it to me! I did put one up that did not have a lot of insects on it but it is not as sticky as the fresh ones.
    Reply · Report · CLAUDIA B on Apr 22, 2015
    · Add Answer · I Have This Question Too (0)
    sold individually or by the case?
    A shopper on Jul 2, 2014
    Best Answer: This is an individual item. I have not seen them sold by the case. Be sure to follow directions for placement to get the best results. I have used these for a couple of years and have been pleased.
    Reply · Report · CAROLYN M on Jul 3, 2014
    · Add Answer · I Have This Question Too (0)
    So would I just plant them in the ground inside the corral (one on each side) and the horses will not bother them?
    A shopper on Apr 28, 2015
    Best Answer: I don't know whether or not the horses will bother them if they're on the ground. I had a stable and hung them high on the outside of the stable. If you don't have a stable, I would attach something (wood or metal) to a corral post (to extend the height) and hang it on that. I can tell you they work! I hung one by my back door (no flies in my house) and one by the garage (it was close to the pasture) and two on the stable. I have since moved to a subdivision near an area where most people have horses, chickens, pigs, llamas, donkeys
    and goats. I keep one hanging by my patio door - my neighbors have flies in their house - I don't. I tried strips, and numerous other fly traps - Starbar Bite Free is the best. B.Barkus
    Reply · Report · Barbara B on Apr 29, 2015
    · Add Answer · I Have This Question Too (0)