horse.com > Pest Control > Fly Sheets > Item # E000977

Defender Basic Fly Sheet

From $23.49

x

Sometimes, manufacturers require that products be advertised only at their suggested prices. When we choose to sell these items for less, we display the sale price only in the cart. To see the price, click Add to Cart.

Select your product options above to view the stock and delivery information.
x

Questions or Feedback? Contact us now.

Buy More and Save!*
Earn up to  Barn Bucks Points with purchase.
Frequently Bought Together:
x

Sometimes, manufacturers require that products be advertised only at their suggested prices. When we choose to sell these items for less, we display the sale price only in the cart. To see the price, click Add to Cart.

Product Summary:

Defender Basic Fly Sheet

Keep your horse happy and comfortable this fly season with the Defender Fly Sheet, a staple for your horse clothing needs.

Features:

  • Lightweight
  • Hook and Loop Velcro front closure
  • Low cross surcingles
  • Adjustable removable leg straps
Item Specifications:

Color:
Gray with Navy Trim

Material:
Nylon Mesh

Downloadable Resources
Sizing InformationSizing Information

Product Reviews by Customers

2.3 / 5.0
41 Reviews
5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars
6
5
5
4
21
Quality
2.4 / 5
Price
3.8 / 5
Recommend to a Friend
No (17)
Yes (11)
You get what you pay for...
For the price its a decent fly sheet. If you want something that is durable and fits a horse better then you should probably spend the money to buy a nice fly blanket... The blanket ran small in my opinion and needs to be remade to make the shoulders more movable I guess you could say. My mare rubbed the hair off both her shoulders because the blanket just cant move. Save your money and spend a little more for a better fly sheet.
October 3, 2016
didn't like this flysheet
ripped down one whole side less then 24 hours after putting it on my horse, who loves to have blankets on and has never ripped one before.
August 8, 2016
Good value, wish there was a little more give for high withers
I bought 2 of these on the recommendation of a friend. My horse will tear and rip off any sheet that he's not happy with. He has managed to tear a couple holes, but these are easily repaired. And I think the sheets will actually last through the fly season!
July 28, 2016
Fell apart within 2 hours
Within 2 hours of the first day the entire outer trim had torn off and ripped a chunk out of the side.
April 29, 2016
Don't waste your money!
I purchased 2 of these sheets and within 24 hours, they were shredded and falling off both horses. I would recommend putting your money towards a bottle of bug spray, before buying one of these sheets. I might as well have thrown my cash away. Such a waste.
July 13, 2015
very good for the price
I was surprised how well it was made for the cost, I would buy another
June 11, 2015
Poor design
This is the perfect hot weather fly sheet except for one thing. Whoever designed this with velcro front closures never tried it on a real horse. I gave it a try and of course, the velcro closures were undone very quickly. The front of the sheet was completely loose and fllapping around. With normal buckle closures, this would be perfect. Have bought these type for years but missed the fact of the velcro closures.
May 29, 2015
Great price but too small
I ordered two of these because the price was right. Both sheets were tight across my horses chests and rubbed as they walked. The front closure was only Velcro without much adjustability. I left the sheets on for a few hours, one had a hole torn in the side, that quickly. I ended up removing them and throwing them away. Would not recommend.
September 2, 2014
It's an okay sheet for the price
I purchased two of these sheets, one for my aged quarter horse and one for my yearling fox trotter. The sizing was good, but the neck opening was huge. I had to sew darts in it to fit the chest area better. (on both sheets).My quarter horse didn't like the sheet and rolled constantly and would get it off. After two weeks it had huge tears in it. My yearling wasn't has hard on hers, but I did have to sew it several times as it kept tearing too. If you have a horse that is easy on sheets and blankets I think it would hold up. Over all it was a cheap enough price, but probably would not purchase again.
July 29, 2014
You get what you pay for, this sheet has no stretch at all and if your horse is likely to rub on it or roll in it it will not last.
Older horses who are just standing around will do fine in this sheet, order it large to make up for the lack of stretch. Younger horses who are going to run around, rub on things and roll will destroy this sheet fast. My 4 year old mare wore it 3 times before it was in tatters. My 14 year old mare's still looks new. Want a fly sheet but you are on a budget? Buy the Saxon $40 model, it will last three times as long as this one.
July 26, 2014
Start typing your question and we'll check if it was already asked and answered. Learn More
Browse 6 questions Browse 6 questions and 35 answers
Why did you choose this?
Horse.com Store
price
HEATHER E on Sep 6, 2017
horrible flies this year!
MONICA B on Jun 5, 2017
price
HEATHER E on Sep 6, 2017
Love defender fly sheets! They fit good and they are nice and heavy duty. Have not ordered this style yet.... but I am sure it wont disappoint.
Angela V on Jun 9, 2017
horrible flies this year!
MONICA B on Jun 5, 2017
Thought it would be softer but very stiff.
VALERY B on Nov 1, 2016
Price... but it didn't last a week! That's what I get for buying cheap.
DAWN M on Dec 4, 2015
Help keep the flies away
Linds on Oct 8, 2015
Needed fly sheets and these were a good price
Alicia H on Sep 23, 2015
cheap and durable
PETER S on Jun 3, 2015
only my mare is a "fly magnet" need to keep her comfy
Debra K on Jan 13, 2015
my freind needs this for a mostly white horse
REGINA B on Dec 12, 2014
good price, and had my size...
ROBIN S on Sep 30, 2014
Low price - Lightweight
ANGIE W on Sep 19, 2014
Like the look.
JODY S on Aug 26, 2014
price
HOLLY N on Jul 21, 2014
Liked the price and I want my older not to have the little flies on her.
KAREN D on Jun 8, 2014
good deal
SHELLY M on Jun 1, 2014
price
Samantha P on May 27, 2014
Good price
Michelle M on May 13, 2014
Light mesh& good pricing
DEBRA E on May 1, 2014
Also would like to try this this year and the price is great.
BOYCE J on Apr 20, 2014
price and looks, I have 8 horses and I like it!
CARLINE B on Apr 15, 2014
One of my friends at the barn brought this item out to try on her mare, and I really liked it so I came home and ordered my horse one.
Andrew G on Apr 13, 2014
I ordered a smaller sheet. My horse needs a fly sheet that is less than 70In.
Dianna M on Mar 26, 2014
Affordable price - love spring shopping for summer items!
AMANDA G on Mar 13, 2014
Good price. Need a fly sheet for camping. Hope this will fir my girl OK.
KAREN N on Feb 12, 2014
Love defender fly sheets! They fit good and they are nice and heavy duty. Have not ordered this style yet.... but I am sure it wont disappoint.
Angela V on Jun 9, 2017
Thought it would be softer but very stiff.
VALERY B on Nov 1, 2016
You advertise this fly sheet as 84 inches, is that length neck to tail or is it a girth measurement?
Kate L on Feb 17, 2014
BEST ANSWER: This is the length from chest to tail.
Does these stay on without getting caught up in the thickets, trees or bushes? Are they durable and what about the buckles when horse roll over in the dirt? I have never own one.
Elaine P on Mar 18, 2014
BEST ANSWER: I bought one last year for one of my mares, it held up pretty well, only one tear in it. I reordered it for all of my horses this year. That being said my horses are older and aren't super playful.
does this have uv protection?
Beckah K on Feb 10, 2016
BEST ANSWER: I have this exact fly sheet, there is not any official designation on the product of it having any uv protection. But by its nature I believe it provides some protection. That being a personal opinion.
do fly sheets make them sweat?
A shopper on Aug 13, 2014
BEST ANSWER: My horses did sweat a little from the sheets, but it was really hot and humid those days. Most of the time they were good. They are thin enough that I breeze goes right through them.