horse.com > Supplements > Hoof Care > Item # SLT122486

Farnam Horseshoers Secret

$24.22
Regularly: $31.09
Today's savings: 22%
x

Sometimes, manufacturers require that products be advertised only at their suggested prices. When we choose to sell these items for less, we display the sale price only in the cart. To see the price, click Add to Cart.

SIZE PRICE/DAY OUR PRICE
11lb
Less than $0.81/DAY
(30 day supply)

$24.22

In Stock. Usually Ships within 24 hours.

22lb
Less than $0.78/DAY
(60 day supply)

$46.29

In Stock. Usually Ships within 24 hours.

38lb
Less than $0.72/DAY
(101 day supply)

$72.30

In Stock. Usually Ships within 24 hours.

Shipping weight = 12.00 lbs.

(Details)

Earn  Barn Bucks Points with purchase.
Frequently Bought Together:
x

Sometimes, manufacturers require that products be advertised only at their suggested prices. When we choose to sell these items for less, we display the sale price only in the cart. To see the price, click Add to Cart.

Product Summary:

Farnam® Horseshoer’s Secret®

Farnam® Horseshoer’s Secret® is a highly palatable, pelleted hoof supplement to help support hoof growth and health for all classes of horses. Hooves will hold shoes longer and have fewer cracks and stronger walls.

Features:

  • Developed to help provide the best possible nutrition for strong healthy hooves
  • Contains the purest and most digestible ingredients, including biotin, minerals, key amino acids, omega-3 and omega-6 fatty acids
  • Nutrients work together to help prevent cracked hooves, strengthen hoof walls, and help support normal hoof growth
  • Official product of the American Farrier’s Association
  • NASC approved
  • Made in the U.S.A.

Item Specifications:

Guaranteed Analysis:
Crude Protein (min.): 20.0%
Lysine (min.): 1.0%
Methionine (min.): 1.6%
Crude Fat (min.): 5.0%
Omega-3 Fatty Acids: 0.6%
Omega-6 Fatty Acids: 0.15%
Crude Fiber (max.): 12.0%
Calcium (min.): 2.2%
Calcium (max.): 2.7%
Phosphorus (min.): 0.5%
Copper (min.): 564 ppm
Zinc (min.): 1,693 ppm
Biotin (min.): 40mg/lb.
This product delivers 15mg biotin, 1704mg lysine, and 2724mg methionine per 6 oz. serving.

Ingredients:
Maize distiller's grains with solubles, alfalfa meal dehydrated, wheat middlings, soybean meal, calcium carbonate, ground flax, cane molasses, bentonite, zinc methionine complex, soybean oil, yeast culture dehydrated (grown on a media of ground corn, diastatic malt and cane molasses), dl-methionine, biotin; copper, amino acid complex; l-lysine, propionic acid (a preservative), and artificial flavoring.

Directions for use:
Enclosed scoop holds 6 oz. For an average adult 1,100 lb. horse, feed 6 oz. per day for 6 to 8 months. Change to a maintenance level of 3 oz. per day. If the problem persists, resume feeding 6 oz. per day. Adjust amount fed according to body weight – more for larger horses, less for smaller horses, ponies or foals.

Size:
11 lb. (30 to 58 days supply)
22 lb. (60 to 117 days supply)
38 lb. (101 to 202 days supply)

Warnings:
For use in horses only. Keep out of the reach of other animals and children. In case of accidental overdose, contact a health professional immediately. This product should not be given to animals intended for human consumption. Safe use in pregnant animals or animals intended for breeding has not been proven.

For Product Label and MSDS Sheet, please click on Manufacturer’s Information to the right.

Downloadable Resources
Product LabelManufacturer Information
MSDS SheetManufacturer Information

Product Reviews by Customers

4.6 / 5.0
36 Reviews
5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars
28
5
0
2
1
Quality
4.6 / 5
Price
4.4 / 5
Recommend to a Friend
Yes (19)
Good feed
Good stuff
September 23, 2017
Purchased
5 months ago
Feeds well; good ingredients
My mare and gelding both eat this w/o question. It smells good and fresh to me. (I like that). I am fond of pelleted products.
February 9, 2017
Love the end results
I have a horse with very soft feet and they chip pretty easy. Not with this stuff...even my Farrier sees a difference. Love it!
August 11, 2016
New Hooves in a Bucket
This product was recommended to us by our farrier. We had just purchased 2 horses and their hooves had some issues. It's been 6 months and our horses hooves are so much better. One horse has completely grown out new healthy hooves and the second has about an inch to go. We recommend this product to all our friends. It's is a little pricey but well worth it. "No hoof, no horse." Is our motto. Unlike some who quit using it after they start to look better we have made it a part of our daily feedings and will continue to do so.
August 27, 2015
Farriers' Secret Solving the problem.
My 30 year old mare never had hoof problems before this summer. A nasty vertical crack developed in each of the front hooves. The Farriers' Secret pellets used in combination with Farriers' Secret Sealant, together, are solving the problem. Oh, and I give her twice pellets that the directions say.
August 19, 2015
Horseshoer Secret Repair strength in Hoof Wall
My Mare Surely has had issues with her feet since she was 2-years old. I have used many promoted products, but this one kicks butt.
May 19, 2015
Have used for many years
Used this product for many years and see improvement in hoof quality. Will continue to use.
April 13, 2015
Excellent product
I started my mare on Horseshoers Secret without telling my farrier that I had her on it. Upon her next shoeing my farrier stopped and turned to me and asked me "what are you doing for this mares feet?". I asked why? He said "because its like driving a nail in a 2x4". Thats when I came clean about Horseshoers Secret. I highly recommend this product.
February 25, 2015
big difference in 3 weeks
First product I've tried my mare with lamanitis symptoms. Noticed less softness/tenderness in the first , the horse seemed to be walking more comfortably. In 3 weeks, noticeably feeling better at the trot and feet look slight better where they have grown in that time. All the horses love the taste. Will continue use.
January 18, 2015
Great Product!
My horse has terrible feet and after a few months on this supplement I could see a huge improvement! I am a forever subscriber!
January 13, 2015
Start typing your question and we'll check if it was already asked and answered. Learn More
Browse 11 questions Browse 11 questions and 70 answers
Why did you choose this?
Horse.com Store
Good for hooves.
WILLIAM R on Jun 2, 2017
Maintain hoofs in good condition.
Wayland C on Feb 22, 2017
Good for hooves.
WILLIAM R on Jun 2, 2017
It is a good product and works well on my horse.
ANNE O on Mar 28, 2017
Maintain hoofs in good condition.
Wayland C on Feb 22, 2017
We have used this product for our three horses for years, and they have never had hoof or feet problems. We love this product, and so do their feet and hooves.
DENNIS W on Jan 14, 2017
Farrier recommended it.
CHANTER J on Jan 11, 2017
Horses like it. Has helped maintain solid hoofs.
E K on Sep 5, 2016
Recommended by Farrier
ANDREAS J on Sep 1, 2016
Have always used this product and can swear that there is nothing better to keep hoofs strong. My mare had a crack in her left back hoof when I bought her and since I used this product, I have seen it heal and become very strong.
EUGENIA R on Jul 25, 2016
Has good ratings.
ROCCO F on Jun 1, 2016
It helps my horse's hoofs. When I don't use it I see a difference in them.
LORA W on Apr 22, 2016
I use it currently - my gelding has dry hoofs that cracked and split unless treated. This product and HorseShoers secret hoof "paint" keep his hoofs suple and crack free. IOW I use the product because it works!
GARRY P on Feb 15, 2016
My horse loves it and it is helping his hooves.
STELLA S on Nov 17, 2015
Suggested by farrier and seems to promote hoof growth.
ALICE S on Oct 20, 2015
The health of hooves is paramount in a working horse. A biotin based additive like this one helps but use it with topical hardener such as keratex around nail holes and a good quality oil rubbed into the coronary band. Always pick feet daily and check shoes. constant attention nets results. A little bit of everything
BRENDAN F on Jul 31, 2015
price and established brand
linda f on Jul 14, 2015
Excellent product.
T A on May 13, 2015
I want my horses to have the best hooves. I am going to start using as preventive measure.
Sondra F on Apr 19, 2015
Began purchasing on the advice of my vet. The mare's hoof was eroding in the 'white line' area, but the vet would not commit to calling it white line since we are in San Diego.
THERESA D on Feb 17, 2015
I have been using this product for my draft horse based on my farrier's recommendations. We have seen a great deal of improvement in the horse's hooves using this product.
MARY A on Jan 24, 2015
Farrier suggested for cracked hooves on Mare
Gerald M on Oct 9, 2014
One of my horses has had a hoof issue. Since I have been putting this in her feed, her feet are doing much better. My farrier also recommends this product.
SHIRLEY K on Oct 4, 2014
I wanted to add a supplement to support my stallions hooves and this looked like a good choice.
R F on Aug 27, 2014
have been using this product for years. Always a good report from the farrier.
PAT F on Aug 21, 2014
My farrier recommended this product for my horses who were experiencing dry cracked hooves.
Janice B on Jul 21, 2014
Helps keep my horses feet from cracking and getting quarter cracks.
PAM H on Jun 13, 2014
Have always used it. Seems to help horse's hooves and he likes to munch it down.
KEN W on Jun 13, 2014
To improve my horse's hoof and my farrier likes the great improvement on my horses' hooves!
MERRI*ODELL M on May 12, 2014
Best price for a product that I have been giving my horse for years, with great results.
LYNN F on Apr 22, 2014
Use it regularly for my 2 horses and it has made a world of difference for their hoof health.
TATIANA D on Apr 8, 2014
Have a mare with thin walls and brittle feet. This product really helps.
KAY S on Mar 28, 2014
It is a good product and works well on my horse.
ANNE O on Mar 28, 2017
We have used this product for our three horses for years, and they have never had hoof or feet problems. We love this product, and so do their feet and hooves.
DENNIS W on Jan 14, 2017
Will this product help a flat footed horse with thin hoof walls?
A shopper on Feb 21, 2015
BEST ANSWER: My quarter horse has flat feet and before this product he had many cracks and would get frequent abscesses. I even had front shoes for a brief time but that was worse. Now, his feet look great and very few cracks other than normal between farrier visits. He used to get those long scary ones that had to be dug out at the top to try and keep them from cracking further. I highly recommend this product.
What is expiration date for horseshoes secret?
A shopper on Sep 24, 2016
BEST ANSWER: The expiration dates vary as stock rotates - unfortunately we could not guarantee a certain date in advance.
Does this product expire?
A shopper on Aug 7, 2014
BEST ANSWER: No, and it will be enough to feed every day before it would go bad. It has looked fresh and the horses have eaten it always as long as it has lasted.
If this product is now in stock, why does my order summary say it is still on backorder, and why has it not shipped?
A shopper on Jun 20, 2016
BEST ANSWER: Please contact our customer service telephone line and we would be more than happy to help you!
Do you have to use it with grain or can you just give it to the horse by itself?
A shopper on Jul 6, 2017
BEST ANSWER: My horses LOVE this stuff, and get excited to eat it all by itself. I have to keep it locked up, or they try to break open the bucket. No grain needed.
My horse has good strong feet, is a Kentucky Mountain Gaited gelding. I want to keep his hooves strong, as they seem to chip easily. He has never worn shoes, and don't intend to do that. He will just be trail ridden, and although he is a "looker" with a great presence, I don't plan on showing. I plan on keeping him on about a half a scoop daily, (3 ounces). He is 900 lbs. Is the best plan? D
dianne m on Mar 31, 2015
BEST ANSWER: My quarter horse gelding has low heels and got many abcesses and chips, so I got shoes on the front for a while, but it wasn't a good solution. I switched farriers and he suggested this product. I no longer had the bad chipping, or abcesses, his hooves grew longer and stronger and he has had NO problems since I started with Horseshoers secret over 6 years ago. It worked for me.
Is this a pelleted feed supplement?
A shopper on Aug 21, 2017
BEST ANSWER: Yes. It looks just like the picture on the container.
is it good for laminitis ?
A shopper on Aug 1, 2017
BEST ANSWER: I don't know but I don't think so. The product is formulated for hoof health as a preventive measure not a medical treatment. You should check with your vet for a qualified answer as I'm sure you know, laminitis is serious and can have dire consequences.
Which horse shorts secret for navicular the green or white label tub ??
A shopper on Apr 14, 2017
BEST ANSWER: Horseshoers Secret will not fix the navicular. It will encourage new hoof growth which will help give the farrier more hoof to work with to try to balance the new angles. The green is the more concentrated so that may be your best bet.
Do you take coupons?
A shopper on Oct 6, 2016
BEST ANSWER: No, we do not accept Manufacturer's coupons. We do, however, usually have great discounted prices and also frequently have Manufacturer's instant rebates built into the pricing.