SWAT Fly Ointment 6oz

$9.49
Regularly: $10.54
Today's savings: 10%
x

Sometimes, manufacturers require that products be advertised only at their suggested prices. When we choose to sell these items for less, we display the sale price only in the cart. To see the price, click Add to Cart.

COLOR PRICE/DAY OUR PRICE
Clear
Less than $1.36/DAY
(7 day supply)

$9.49

In Stock. Usually Ships within 24 hours.

Pink
Less than $1.36/DAY
(7 day supply)

$9.49

In Stock. Usually Ships within 24 hours.

Shipping weight = 0.47 lb.

Shipping Restrictions Apply: Must Ship Ground Servi

(Details)

Earn  Barn Bucks Points with purchase.
Frequently Bought Together:
x

Sometimes, manufacturers require that products be advertised only at their suggested prices. When we choose to sell these items for less, we display the sale price only in the cart. To see the price, click Add to Cart.

Product Summary:

Farnam® SWAT® Fly Repellent Ointment

Farnam® SWAT® is a botanically-derived pyrethrin formula which repels house flies, stable flies, face flies, and horn flies. Stays effective for hours. Ideal for use on the face and areas around cuts, wounds and irritated skin. Apply daily for continued protection.

Features:

  • Protects wounds, open sores, scratches and abrasions from dirt, filth, and disease-carrying flies
  • For use on horses, ponies and dogs
  • Repels house flies, stable flies, face flies, and horn flies
Item Specifications:

Size:
6 oz. jar

Active Ingredients:
Piperonyl Butoxide, Technical*: 0.5%
Pyrethrins: 0.2%
Di-n-propyl isocinchomeronate: 1.0%
Other Ingredients**: 98.3%
Total: 100.0%
*Equivalent to 0.4% (butylcarbityl) (6-propylpiperonyl) ether and 0.1% related compounds
**Contains petroleum distillates

Directions for Use:
It is a violation of Federal law to use this Product in a manner inconsistent with its labeling.
Do not apply directly over cuts, wounds, or irritated skin.
Apply only to the areas around the cut, wound, or irritation.
Use daily. Do not use on animals under 12 weeks. Consult a veterinarian before using this product on debilitated, aged, pregnant, nursing or medicated animals. Sensitivities may occur after using ANY pesticide product for pets. If signs of sensitivity occur, bathe pet with mild soap and rinse with large amounts of water. If signs continue, consult a veterinarian immediately. Do not use on horses or foals intended for slaughter.  Do not apply near eyes and mouth. Apply sparingly around ears. Wash hands with soap and water promptly after use.

Caution: Not for human use. Wash hands after using. Wear long-sleeved shirt, long pants, shoes and socks. Wash thoroughly with soap and water after handling and before eating, drinking, chewing gum, using tobacco or using the toilet.

For additional product information, please click under Downloadable Resources on the right.

Downloadable Resources
Product LabelManufacturer Information
MSDS SheetManufacturer Information

Product Reviews by Customers

4.9 / 5.0
58 Reviews
5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars
50
8
0
0
0
Horsenround
I have this with me everywhere. Miracle cream !
January 30, 2018
Purchased
6 months ago
Easy to use
I use this on my pasture boarded horses during the summer on the legs. It helps to keep them calmer during the day.
September 20, 2017
Purchased
8 months ago
Works great
Price kind of adds up since I need all summer but it works well.
September 8, 2017
Purchased
7 months ago
Really works
We use it on our horses and dogs - great product and NOT pink! Helps heal the bites too!
August 22, 2017
Purchased
10 months ago
Swat Fly ointment.
Best thing I have ever used for biting gnats. My horses would be eaten alive with out it.
I also like to use it in sensitive areas like the face and ears. The horse don't mind it at all and it's easy to use.
July 28, 2017
Purchased
9 months ago
Great Product
Effective on repelling flies and keeping wounds covered when a wrap just won't stay
July 11, 2017
Always Have used swat!
The pink and clear both work; I have always used the pink, because when the color fades, you know it is time to reapply!
May 25, 2017
This priduct worked when nothing else did.
This got rid of bots around my horses sheath when everything else failed. I could not believe how fast it healed his open sore.
October 23, 2016
This helps horses not get fly bites in sensitive areas
This product seems to prevent insect bites on my horse's sensitive hard to reach areas. The consistency is of vaseline. (I wonder if vaseline would work.) I'm pretty sure the combo of consistency and active ingredients makes this work.I usually put it on my horses chest, on his belly, and under his jaw bone. If I don't use it, he gets so many bites they are scabby. If I use it, he doesn't get them. Someone at the barn uses baby diaper rash cream which she swears works, but I prefer the product here because it stays on longer and ACTUALLY has pyrethrin. I don't use a lot or every day. The container is small. I use clear. I don't want my horse looking like a clown. But I remember an instructor at a busy barn always used the pink one so she would know when her students put it on her lesson horses. Easy to see in the field.I have never used it in a cut...I'd be a little afraid with the chemicals and consistency... but maybe it works great. Not sure.
October 9, 2016
Happy to see this great product in 'clear'!
Swat works. However, I always hated the pink color! I am very happy to use this in a clear form under the belly, in the ears, around wounds, etc. It lasts for days.I do use a glove to put this on, as the smell (and perhaps the chemicals) will stay on your hand for quite awhile - even if you wash. You can also keep a plastic baggie to reuse for application many times.
July 7, 2016
Start typing your question and we'll check if it was already asked and answered. Learn More
Browse 11 questions Browse 11 questions and 114 answers
Why did you choose this?
Horse.com Store
SWAT's an easy to apply repellent for the face and sensitive underbelly.
Kalli N on Jan 6, 2018
I have confidence in this product.
Deanna J on Sep 25, 2017
SWAT's an easy to apply repellent for the face and sensitive underbelly.
Kalli N on Jan 6, 2018
Best I know of for keeping biting gnats away from their ears. Just a little smear inside does the trick.
Micki S on Nov 13, 2017
I have confidence in this product.
Deanna J on Sep 25, 2017
Great for boo boos.
KIM H on Jul 28, 2017
Because horses will be horses, salve is needed and this time of year is imperrative to keep flys away from wounds.
Bonniesue T on Jul 14, 2017
helps keep chest & belly nats off & heals bites if there
TERI R on Jul 4, 2017
I have used Swat for years, it works great on the chest area and belly & hind leg inner area. I typically use this mainly to repel the nats on the horses.
ALETA T on Jun 21, 2017
Love this for spot areas of fly protection. Go thru 3 jars of this a summer for 2 horses. This is the best price.
JODY & ED B on Jun 17, 2017
Keeps insects off all those little cuts and scrapes all horses seem to get.
LORI P on May 30, 2017
pink swat is the best. it also promotes hair growth
MARJORIE S on May 18, 2017
I have used this for years. Good dependable product to help heal cuts and scrapes and keep flies off.
TONA L on May 12, 2017
it works
katherine c on Apr 29, 2017
I think this is the best to keep flies off of bitten spots!
TINA F on Mar 11, 2017
Keeps horses more confortable
Javier P on Mar 8, 2017
just in case
Janet C on Dec 31, 2016
Best stuff around
Davana V on Dec 28, 2016
Another trail rider recommended it. She said that it lasts longer than sprays.
Georgia F on Oct 28, 2016
This is a staple in my arsenal. The only thing that keeps those darn gnats from eating my horse.
JENELLE B on Oct 20, 2016
Used before. Good product.
Frank S on Sep 23, 2016
The biting flies eat up my donkey's legs. I apply every other day
PAMELA W on Sep 7, 2016
works better on the horses belly, chest and ears
JANICE H on Aug 10, 2016
I've used this in the past and it really works!
C L on Jul 25, 2016
This product really works repelling flies.
Denise K on May 30, 2016
works well on face and around injuries
Paula B on May 25, 2016
I have dogs that get their ears bitten by flies . This helps the soars & keeps the flies off. I thought I ordered the pink?
Lori S on May 11, 2016
works great it's clear and fly's stay away
Jackie F on May 4, 2016
the reviews
Barb C on May 2, 2016
Great product, great price.
Beverly O on Apr 15, 2016
I put it on coronet and back of pastern to keep the ticks OFF.
Kay L on Mar 7, 2016
I've used this before, but it was a different brand.
Dennis B on Nov 21, 2015
Used it for years. Great product!
RICK T on Oct 1, 2015
I use this in the summer 2 times a week I apply to my horse's ears to keep those knats and flys away. Works great.
ANGELA W on Sep 30, 2015
couldn't live without this with our heat to use under belly, on top of back and on faces
TERRI M on Sep 11, 2015
to protect eyes on animal who is ear shy and won't wear fly mask
LEROY K on Aug 31, 2015
works well with small wounds. helps keeps flies away from wound in hot weather.
GAYLE C on Aug 29, 2015
Works great to keep midges off horse tummies
Tracee G on Aug 26, 2015
Have used this product for years with great results. This year I used this on my horses legs to keep the flies from biting. I like the pink color as it lets me know its still on and working.
MAUREEN D on Aug 25, 2015
to put on wounds to keep flies off
DIAN W on Aug 17, 2015
Helps to keep the flies off my horse
TED B on Aug 16, 2015
Always use the clear Swat to keep flys away from eyes. works the best.
LORNA T on Aug 11, 2015
Keeps flys off their belly.
M.J. P on Aug 10, 2015
easy to use around the eyes and on belly for flies
H L on Aug 10, 2015
reccommended for fly bites
HELEN M on Aug 4, 2015
It simply works!
ABBY W on Jul 25, 2015
This helps small wounds heal faster. it works great. I have great success with a small dap in the inside of the ears and keep biting insects out.
NICOLE K on Jul 7, 2015
use it around eyes instead of a fly mask
LINDSEY F on Jul 1, 2015
My horse has summer sores on her belly that the flies eat at, and nothing quite works but this for keeping the flies away and helping the sores heal.
Eleesha N on Jun 29, 2015
works great, especially under belly
Karen S on Jun 28, 2015
Keeps the flys off of any wounds or scrapes.
PATRICIA G on Jun 24, 2015
The product works well to reduce fly bites on our horses, mules and donkey legs. This year is particularly bad for biting flies and fly spray is not enough to last 24 hours.
Julie B on Jun 23, 2015
Best I know of for keeping biting gnats away from their ears. Just a little smear inside does the trick.
Micki S on Nov 13, 2017
Great for boo boos.
KIM H on Jul 28, 2017
Does this product work to keep flies off of dog's ear tips?
A shopper on Jun 18, 2014
BEST ANSWER: I use it on one of my horse's ears. But, with that said I would ask your vet if the ingredients are safe for dogs. Just like aspirin can kill a cat, some meds can't be used 'cross species'.
Also, I would never put swat on an open wound. Putting it around the wound with maybe Corona on the top of the wound works great- talking horses here. Corona stays put pretty well in most temperatures.It is harder to use when it is really cold as it gets 'solid'.
But, again on the Swat, ask your vet about the ears on your pup. NEVER get it on the face where it can get into the eyes. Frankly, I would be worried about Swat on the pups ears as dogs and cats will take their paws and scratch their ears and might rub it into their eyes.
Hope all this helps.
can I put swat directly on the open cut?
A shopper on Jun 20, 2016
BEST ANSWER: I have in the past, while keeping the flies away it also attracks dirt. Flies are attracted to blood and the wound. I like to use either the charcoal wound powder or the vetericyn gel spray. I use the swat for my horses ears and groin areas.
do you have to wear gloves?
A shopper on May 15, 2016
BEST ANSWER: I have used SWAT for years. It is messy. Wearing gloves would make it not stick to your hands. I don't believe it is toxic otherwise why put it on your horses. One thing, do not ever put it directly on open wounds. Just put it around them. Once the wound is sealed, scabbed over, it can be put lightly on the whole wound. It is really great stuff. I use it on one of my Arab's ears, on the outside and lightly on the tip on the inside (very lightly- just a thin almost unnoticeable film). Keeps the little flies that bug them away from the ears. That with a nice fitting fly mask works great. It is also great to put a light film of it under the jaw on the horse, keeps flies from bugging them there too (little pun there). OH, another comment. Most people put fly masks on way too tight. Adjust them with the horse's head down, eating hay from the stall floor for example. Should be able, with their head down, to get two fingers between the fly mask and their jaw bone. You would be amazed how tight the fly mask gets it you try to put it on with their head up and then they go to put their head down. I mark on the fly mask, with a felt pen, where the strap hits after I have them drop their head - that way I don't have to make them drop their head every time I put on the fly mask.
can you use Swat on cows?
Kathy L on Apr 17, 2014
BEST ANSWER: Sure. I don't see why not. It is a dirt collector so you will have to wipe off if it builds up and reapply. Love this stuff for deer flies and ear gnats. I also put some on the tail head to keep away horse flies.
What's the difference between the pink and the clear?
Stormy K on Jun 3, 2016
BEST ANSWER: Just the color. It helps to use the clear if you don't want to have the pink show up on your horse. On the other hand if you do want to see that you put the swat on the pink help to see where you put it. But I usually prefer the clear because I have a gray horse
can SWAT be used on my horses nose?
holly g on Jul 9, 2015
BEST ANSWER: I have used it on my horses nose. They don't much like it. And I don't try to get it on the end because of them putting it in the water to drink. My horses ware a fly mask and I put it just below the fly mask.
Does this work for no see ums?
A shopper on Nov 5, 2016
BEST ANSWER: Yes. This time of year the insides of my donkeys ears would be a bloody mess without a thick layer of Swat. You do have to occasionally clean out the excess goop from deeper inside the ear, but well worth the extra mess. This is only product that I put on raw bleeding skin; the bugs here are ferocious.
Is this product safe to use on dogs?
Christina S on Aug 17, 2016
BEST ANSWER: great product use all the time, i put under my horses eyes in the summer to keep flies away as they won't keep a mask on lol. i also put around wounds. would us on my other pets as well
Does Swat come Ina larger container? Use in large barn.
Gail D on Jun 12, 2016
BEST ANSWER: No just the small jars. These are handy however, because you can hold it while applying with the other hand. If you had a large container, you'd have to walk to each horse with this material on your hand and it is greasy.
Will it hurt the horses if it's put on the abrasions?
A shopper on Jul 28, 2016
BEST ANSWER: I don't think it will hurt to put on an abrasion, not a deep cut, but I use it around any wound to keep flies away.